Sunday, 21 June 2015

Falling Into Place || Book Review

Hey Guys!

Time to do another book review. This time I will be reviewing Falling into Place by Amy Zhang. Small fact: Amy is a teen author and published this book her debut novel Falling into Place at the age of 18! So go there we go for all you young aspiring authors. It has been done. 

My friend T.A.Christensen recommended this book to me. Mostly cause we had both been reading books on the same subject for a while. So it was a bit of a toss back and forth to the whole genre.
She told me that is was pretty good and that I should read it. Mostly so we could have our book talk on it. (It seems to be a thing going with us. Talking about books.)

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road. 

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

This book is told in a different perspective. And I am not going to say who by. Cause it is better you find out for yourself. But it really keeps you guessing with the narration. Personally I really liked the writing. It was smooth and poetic. My favorite kind of narrations. And very close to heart, cause I find my own writing is rather poetic. 

I noticed something with this book and the last book. And probably another couple of books. Is that physics seem to play a big role in death. Or anything to do on the subject. I am starting to wonder, why physics? But as I think about it. Even though I have never properly studied the science. It is what makes things tick. Energy and force. And  the more I look at it. The more beautiful it seems to me. And I never really cared much about science. And never did Liz Emerson. 

So on the topic of Liz Emerson. She is very different to any character I have ever read about. She is a bit of a bitch.  After briefly reading a couple of reviews on goodreads. I learned a little bit more on what other people seemed to think about Liz. And that was, they all hated her. But I didn't. 
You see. As you will learn. Liz did some pretty horrible things. She was horrible. 
But what people seem to not see was. Even though she was the person that destroyed peoples lives. The kind of person who drew people to throw them selves of bridges and such. She knew that she was a bad person. She knew what she had done, and what it did to people. And she knew that she could not turn back the clock and change those things. That is why she decided to kill herself. She hated herself. 
Liz had a way of channeling her pain. And I think we all do.

One of the things I liked about this book, was you got to know the characters around Liz. All about her best friends; Julia and Kennie. And Liam. And a sea of other characters. You got to see how Liz had both good and bad impacts on them all.
What really stood out to me with this book was. You really don't know what is going on down bellow in someone. No matter who they are. Everyone is fighting a battle. And %9.9999999999 of the time, you will not be able to see on the outside. And fun fact, most people will shove their pain so far down where no one can see it, not even themselves.

I liked each chapter had a random event. Nothing was in order. It would go years before the "accident" to minute before her "accident" to the present time. It was kind of everywhere. But I loved it how it all tied together at the end. Every thing Fell into place.

I did cry while reading this. Even worse. In the early stages of reading the book, I was in the library on my break. And I felt the water works... So I just covered my face with my hands and sobbed a bit. A bit awkward... But you gotta do these things. Especially when FEELS are that strong.

I give this book stars!!! I really liked this book. I thought it was very beautiful. And I enjoyed it. It kept me guessing, and I really didn't know till right at the end,what was going to happen. 


1 comment:

  1. This book is on my TBR, but I'll defiantly be keeping a sharper eye out for it now :)